June 30, 2014

hey all!

sounds like a lot of really good things are happening:) i sure do miss camping! but we’re going hiking today so we’re pretty excited about that! i’m not sure all the details yet but i think we’re going to a place called whatcom falls (or something similar). but so far it’s been a productive day. the apartment and car are all clean and all of the spiders in our apartment are either dead or will be poisoned before they know it. hermana wahlstrom really doesn’t like spiders. nope. she screams. so i’m getting pretty good at getting rid of them. it’s kinda a talent i’ve developed on my mission. missions teach you a ton of things;)

this week was fun and wiped us out. so last night, we had a movie night. we watched ‘forever family’ or something like that. we put the little dvd player on the ironing board. there was popcorn…to be honest, i’m not sure how long that popcorn had been in that apartment. missionaries leave a ton of stuff behind) but it was fun:) thursday we had exchanges so sister fishburn from alaska (who also went to utah state!!) can to mt. vernon with me for the day. it was fun but tiring. i’m super grateful for my companion. it’s no fun to do all of the work (mostly all of the spanish) by yourself. luckily, we have awesome sister training leaders:)

so victoria was not able to be baptized this week. she is ready and willing to go. we just need the green light. she needs permission from her husband. the thing is, she’s getting divorced and doesn’t live with him. we’ve also been working with a lot of families that are struggling with their marriages. so hermana wahlstrom have been talking about marriage a lot this week. at first we get super terrified but then the more we talk about it, the gospel doctrines really fix it all out. basically, be careful who you marry and then care for the one you marry. i really appreciate what you said about family history and binding our families together. i’m starting to understand and realize the importance of these things because we’re seeing the side effects of families that try to run the world’s lifestyle. it’s tough. and it doesn’t need to be. i’m not saying that the gospel takes away all of our problems -but it fills our lives with purpose.

it’s not empty. it’s not superficial or temporary. eternal families and eternal relationships endure. i love that word. endure. to me that sounds like it can last through anything. any weather any stain any wash load;)

i do love the gospel. it fits so perfectly. it has the answers that we need. yesterday at church, two of our investigators were there which was really neat! it was martha’s first time there and so she was just soaking it all up:) sunday school we learned about the sacrament and then there was a combined lesson about the plan of salvation. it was perfect. we needed to teach a review of the plan of salvation because that was the last thing that we taguht her before we lost contact with her. and then the lesson in sunday school worked out perfectly because it explained things so clearly and wonderfully -set up sacrament meeting really nice for her. my point is, God knew how it important it was for her to be there and she felt what she needed to feel:) it was all good.

some of the things we experienced this week ties into what you studied for family home evening. diligence. we saw it in victoria -she couldn’t be baptized this past weekend even though she really wants to be, she’s determined to do what it takes and to be patient. it’s amazing to see her progress. i saw it in my companion -there was one door we knocked on. 2 or 3 times. but she knocked one. more. time. and a woman answered who turns out to be an inactive member. and that reminds me of how diligent our Heavenly Father is. how he will never give up on us either. even our Savior will do anything to find the 1.

well i got to get going but just know that i sure do love you! to the moon and back:)

yesterday i read 3 nephi 9 in personal study:) i love verses 14-18. don’t forget that the creator of the universe is divinely involved in your life. we choose to believe.

much love,

hermana bain

14 Yea, verily I say unto you, if ye will come unto me ye shall have eternal life. Behold, mine arm of mercy is extended towards you, and whosoever will come, him will I receive; and blessed are those who come unto me.

15 Behold, I am Jesus Christ the Son of God. I created the heavens and the earth, and all things that in them are. I was with the Father from the beginning. I am in the Father, and the Father in me; and in me hath the Father glorified his name.

16 I came unto my own, and my own received me not. And the scriptures concerning my coming are fulfilled.

17 And as many as have received me, to them have I given to become the sons of God; and even so will I to as many as shall believe on my name, for behold, by me redemption cometh, and in me is the law of Moses fulfilled.

18 I am the light and the life of the world. I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end.

One thought on “June 30, 2014

  1. Dear Sister Bain Thanks for all the good work that your are doing. You’re bringing many salvation to many souls. One thing that President Kimball said,”it is that selfishness is the cause of all divorces.”We just got back today from a funeral in East Texas for my Nephew. I hope we did some good missionary work there. We are rushed to get things back to normal. 2 Nephi 28:30 This seems to be a principle of progression and retrogression. As I gave out a pass along card on the Airplane, I was wishing that I had perfect love for all strangers so that it would be easier to approach people. I need to work on my approach. We love you and appreciate you. Keep up the good work. Bishop and Ward Date: Tue, 1 Jul 2014 19:05:19 +0000 To: joe_judymiller@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

